Recent Books Gifted From Publishers

Inspired by my friend Bron, I thought that I’d do a little blog post featuring some of the books I got from publishers this month.

I say some because I forgot I had a book in a different place than this stack. But also, I am glad because these are all the same height, and it is just aesthetically pleasing to me.

Of course, I am excited to read any books from publishers, and for the first time ever, I’ve received books that I didn’t request, which is exciting. Not only that, but some are middle grade books, and y’all know how I love middle grade books!

Without further ado, the books shown, from top to bottom (and their publishers) are:

Winterborne Home for Mayhem and Mystery by Ally Carter from Hachette Australia

I read Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour last year and absolutely loved it. You can find my review here.

I don’t want to spoil anything for this sequel, so here is the blurb for Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valour.

When 11-year-old April joins a group of kids living at Winterborne Home she doesn’t expect to be there for very long. But she soon learns that this home isn’t like any of the others – especially when she unearths the secret of the missing-and-presumed-dead billionaire, Gabriel Winterborne, who is neither missing nor dead but is actually living in a basement lair, sharpening his swords and looking for vengeance.

Now that April knows Gabriel Winterborne is alive, she must turn to the other orphans to keep him that way. As a looming new danger threatens to take Gabriel down once and for all, they must use their individual talents to find a way to make sure this home for misfits isn’t lost to them for ever.

Because at the Winterborne Home, nothing is what it seems, no one is who they say they are and nowhere is safe. And now a ragtag group of orphans must unravel the riddle of a missing heir, a supposed phantom and a secret key, all without alerting the adults of Winterborne House that trouble is afoot.

Penguin Bloom (for younger readers) by Chris Kunz, Harry Cripps, and Shaun Grant from Harper Collins Australia

This is one I hadn’t heard about but remember vague details about there being an upcoming movie.

Here is the blurb.

Inspired by the true story of an unlikely hero, and adapted from the major motion picture starring Naomi Watts, Andrew Lincoln and Jacki Weaver

I guess we all kinda knew our life was perfect and that we wouldn’t change a thing.

But sometimes you don’t get that choice, do you? Sometimes stuff happens that you would do anything to try to avoid. But you can’t. And that’s what happened to us.

Penguin Bloom tells the true story of Sam Bloom, a young mother whose world is turned upside down after a near-fatal accident leaves her unable to walk. Sam’s husband, her three young boys and her mother are struggling to adjust to their new situation when an unlikely ally enters their world in the form of an injured baby magpie they name Penguin. The bird’s arrival is a welcome distraction for the Bloom family, eventually making a profound difference in the family’s life.

This young readers’ edition, adapted from the major Australian motion picture starring Naomi Watts, tells their story through the eyes of Noah, one of the three Bloom boys.

Perfect On Paper by Sophie Gonzales from Hachette Australia

I read Sophie Gonzales’ first book last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. I loved that it was a Grease inspired book, and I am even more excited for this one (and also her future one coming out, too).

You can find my review for Only Mostly Devastated here.

A bisexual girl who gives anonymous love advice to her school friends is hired by the hot new kid to help him get his ex back. Leah on the Offbeat meets To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before – the new queer YA rom-com from Sophie Gonzales.

‘Perfectly wonderful’ – Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Her advice, spot on. Her love life, way off.

Darcy Phillips:
Can give you the solution to any of your relationship woes – for a fee.
Uses her power for good. Most of the time.
Really cannot stand the new Australian jock at school, Alexander Brougham.
Has maybe not the best judgement when it comes to her best friend, Brooke…who is in love with someone else.
Does not appreciate being blackmailed.

But when Brougham catches Darcy in the act of collecting letters from locker 89 – out of which she’s been running her questionably legal, anonymous relationship advice service – that’s exactly what happens. In exchange for keeping her secret, Darcy begrudgingly agrees to become his personal dating coach. The goal? To help him win his ex-girlfriend back.

Darcy has good reason to keep her identity secret. If word gets out that she’s behind the locker, some things she’s not proud of will come to light, and there’s a good chance Brooke will never speak to her again.

Okay, so all she has to do is help an entitled, bratty, (annoyingly hot) guy win over a girl who’s already fallen for him once? What could possibly go wrong?

The Dragon and Her Boy by Penny Chrimes from Hachette Australia

This one sounds so good! I have been enjoying middle grade and dragon books a lot lately, so this is exciting for me!

A story of a the very last living dragon, stuck living in a tunnel under London, and the boy who unintentionally finds himself as her protector, perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink & Stars.

When Stick discovers there is a dragon living underneath the streets of London, he finds himself unintentionally drawn into an epic adventure and a quest — but how can he find a place for a dragon to live in London when dragons aren’t supposed to exist? And with foes at every corner who want to exploit the dragon for themselves, it’s going to take a daring plan for Stick to find a safe place for his dragon — and for himself.

The World Between Blinks by Aime Kaufman and Ryan Graudin from Harper Collins Australia

I don’t think that I have ever read a book about cousins before, so this one is super exciting to me! Also, that cover is amazing!

Whenever cousins Jake and Marisol get together, adventure follows. They have their late Nana to thank for that. Her epic trips and treasure hunts were the stuff of family legend.

This summer, with the whole family reuniting for one last vacation at Nana’s home, the cousins are in for a legendary trip of their own.

Following a map Nana left behind, Jake and Marisol sneak out to a nearby lighthouse – then accidentally slip into another world … The World Between Blinks is a magical place, where all kinds of lost things (and people!) end up. Everywhere they turn, the cousins find real mysteries from history – plus a few they thought were only myths.

But the man who holds the key to Jake and Marisol’s journey home doesn’t want to be found … and if the cousins don’t catch him fast, they could end up lost in this world forever.

That’s all from me tonight. I hope that everyone is keeping well. And I hope you’ve all had a good weekend, too!

Let me know what you’re reading below in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Recent Books Gifted From Publishers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s